The Complete Routine Immunisation Schedule

10 July, 2024

The UK government has published the updated routine immunisation schedule, outlining the recommended vaccines for individuals from infancy through adulthood. This comprehensive guide aims to protect against numerous diseases and ensure public health.

Key Components of the Schedule

  • Infancy and Childhood: Vaccines for diseases like diphtheria, tetanus, whooping cough, polio, Hib, hepatitis B, rotavirus, meningococcal, pneumococcal, and MMR (measles, mumps, and rubella).
  • Adolescence: HPV vaccine for preventing human papillomavirus, MenACWY for meningococcal disease.
  • Adulthood: Annual flu vaccine for high-risk groups, shingles vaccine for older adults.

Importance of the Immunisation Schedule

Adhering to the immunisation schedule is crucial for individual and public health. It helps prevent the spread of infectious diseases, protects vulnerable populations, and ensures herd immunity. Vaccinations are a vital part of preventive healthcare, reducing the incidence of vaccine-preventable diseases and their complications.

Healthcare Provider Guidance

  • Informing Patients: Healthcare providers should educate patients about the importance of timely vaccinations and address any concerns regarding vaccine safety.
  • Maintaining Records: Accurate record-keeping of immunisations is essential to ensure compliance with the schedule and to identify any missed doses.


The routine immunisation schedule is a critical tool in the fight against infectious diseases. By following the schedule, individuals can protect themselves and their communities from preventable illnesses. Healthcare providers play a key role in promoting and administering these vaccines to ensure public health and safety.

Read more: Complete routine immunisation schedule – GOV.UK (

Read more articles: Ashtons Resources